A Blast From My Past

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I am Ditzy Dizzy Di!

I’m already dizzy just from life itself. Why on earth would I need to sit at a wheel of any kind that spins? But, I do. I love spinning wool and now I love to throw pottery!

DSCN4598

DSCN4599

Then it hit me….can you hear it….Dizzy, my head is spinning….I’m so Dizzy! Wo a blast from my past hit me….Tommy Roe, you know it….Dizzy! Ok, maybe you don’t go back that far….but I could hear it as clear as day….being a child of the 60’s.

DSCN4595

This is John, my mentor….well, he’s just a guy in class who showed me what to do. As is, I’ll just wing it and come up with a style of my own. I’ve never been afraid to try anything new.

Here’s my first pot…..YIKES. It was so thin on one side, so I pulled a spout!

I’m so dizzy. My head is spinning.

DSCN4597

DSCN4596

John showed me how to trim it and then I threw two more pots. I was amazed with myself! I kept working to center them. Starting over several times before I got it. I’ll show them next week. Now I have to figure out how to throw something other than bowls….we don’t have that much cupboard space! I would love to replace all our factory made dishes with handmade pottery. I don’t know what it is. But there is something about eating from earthenware that is handmade. Just like wearing natural fibers that are handmade.

Ok. I really am a child of the 60’s. Maybe I am a hippy at heart, as Sweet Girls friends think. I do still wear tie dye, but I don’t wear socks with my sandals!!!

I’m so dizzy. My head is spinning!

Leave a Reply

