My Vit D Mantra!

My Vit D mantra is take Cod Liver Oil, take CLO, take CLO, take CLO!

I read this article on The Conspiracy of Silence About Swine Flu (I know a weird title….?), extremely important that I wanted to share it with you. I also wrote a post on the importance of Vit D a few months ago, that specifically tied Vit D deficiency to pain and fatigue. Here is a whole list of reasons to increase your Vit D intake NOW…..don’t wait until you start to feel sick. It’s usually too late by that point.

I’ve asked myself for years now, “why do we get so sick in the winter?”

I’ve come up with a few of my own unscientific reasons, although they’ve been proven to be true. One is the lack of Vit D from sunshine. Another is the increase in the amount of sugar during the holidays. Sugar increases the insulin levels in the body which in turn depresses the immune system.

“Vitamin D is naturally produced by the human body when exposed to direct sunlight. Season, geographic latitude, time of day, cloud cover, smog, and sunscreen affect UV ray exposure and vitamin D synthesis in the skin, and it is important for individuals with limited sun exposure to include good sources of vitamin D in their diet.” reference: Wikipedia

Natural sources of vitamin D include:

  • Fish liver oils, such as cod liver oil, 1 Tbs. (15 mL) provides 1,360 IU (one IU equals 25 ng)
  • Fatty fish species, such as:
    • Herring, 85 g (3 ounces (oz)) provides 1383 IU
    • Catfish, 85 g (3 oz) provides 425 IU
    • Salmon, cooked, 100 g (3.5 oz]) provides 360 IU
    • Mackerel, cooked, 100 g (3.5 oz]), 345 IU
    • Sardines, canned in oil, drained, 50 g (1.75 oz), 250 IU
    • Tuna, canned in oil, 85 g (3 oz), 200 IU
    • Eel, cooked, 100 g (3.5 oz), 200 IU
  • A whole egg, provides 20 IU (esp eat lots of yolks)
  • Beef liver, cooked, 100 g (3.5 oz), provides 15 IU
  • RAW MILK!

And don’t forget a few years ago when it was the Avian Flu, it was recommended to consume the juice from sauerkraut. Not the vinegar kind you find in the grocery. But the kind I posted on a couple days ago; fermented sauerkraut. It’s loaded with another vital nutrient, Vit C!

Now back to the article on The Conspiracy of Silence About Swine Flu. Frankly, I believe that the government today is not our friend. Unfortunately I’ve found out the hard way through my own battle with a very political disease, that this is true. Is there a conspiracy? I don’t know about that. But I believe that this administration will take advantage of any crisis! Not my words but theirs! Here is Rahm Emmanuel, the Presidents Cheif of Staff. So, do they want to stay silent and not give you a simple prescription to warding off The Swine Flu? You decide. In my opinion, it would be the perfect crisis to force through the Health Care Bill, which I am in opposition to. I do believe that some kind of reform is needed, but not this Bill! (I warn you, it is a PDF and is over 1,000 pages ….pleasant reading!)

For me and my house, we will consume CLO, get as much unobstructed sunshine as possible, and eat nutrient dense foods! We will NOT get vaccinated! We will continue to build our immune system, do what we can and leave the rest to God. That’s all we can do.

Leave a Reply

