Summers End

DSCN4449

We had a wicked bad storm blow through on Friday evening. There were tornado warnings with rotational winds. The lightening strikes were violent.

The aftermath left my sunflowers a complete disaster. I’m grateful that that is the only thing to report damage to.

I worked for hours on Saturday to cut the sunflower stems off in what must of been 100% humidity. We must of gotten several inches of rain overnight and the plants were almost all uprooted. I’m glad I got to enjoy them while they were blooming beautifully all summer and the bees were none to concerned about the condition of the plants, they were still busy collecting nectar.

DSCN4441

I decided to put them out by the street. I read on a blog the other day that a young mom was driving home after a difficult day and saw a sign for FREE sunflowers. She was overwhelmed with gratitude. She needed that beautiful pick-me up from someone offering FREE sunflowers!

Even though we live in what would be considered a very upscale zip code (notice, I didn’t say neighborhood!), I still put my sunflowers out for FREE. This was my simple blessing this weekend and I hope someone had their spirits lifted by these lovely summer ladies!

DSCN4432

I didn’t let the seeds go to waste.  I laid them out to dry and I’ll collect them for my Jersey girls!

DSCN4450

Leave a Reply

