Simple Beauty

My plan was to cut and sell my sunflowers….but, I just couldn’t. They were covered with honey bees and monarch butterflies. I have a hard time thinning plants in the spring and pulling volunteers growing in unlikely places….I don’t know…it just pains me to pull them. I have a volunteer squash plant growing outside of my compost bin among my raspberries and I didn’t have it in me to pull it. Last year my squash didn’t grow, so I thought this would be my backup squash…..Wouldn’t you know it….it’s a butternut squash. Prolific to say the least. I also planted them under the sunflowers. I’m not really a fan of butternut squash….but I will be this year….that and pumpkins!

DSCN4110

DSCN4108

My sunflowers are over 7 feet tall in my little raised beds.

DSCN4109

DSCN4111

DSCN4107

DSCN4121

DSCN4122

Lots of butternut squash.

DSCN4115

Okra coming on…see it….tiny little pointed thing.

DSCN4120

My new raspberries are coming along….just a few yummy berries this year. Next year they will be wonderful.

DSCN4119

My new grapevines are also doing great.

DSCN4118

DSCN4117

Life is good!

Leave a Reply

