Our New Milking Stanchion

DSCN3939

Honey has been busy as usual. He’s nearly finished with my outdoor milking stanchion. I’ve been training Josie to walk in on her own and she surprised me the other day by backing out all by herself. What a smart cow!

In my milking parlor we are going to pour a concrete pad with gravel sprinkled on the top. The gravel with give Josie some traction and the concrete will allow me to hose it off. Then Honey will build another stanchion there with a head gate from my farmers old barn! We have access to free brick, so we’ll brick the rest of the room. Until we can get that room done, the outside stanchion will be used. And I’ll pray for no rain, so we don’t get watered down milk!

(you know better than that….of course Honey will put a roof over me, when he’s let out of quarantine!!! 😉 )

DSCN3941

DSCN3942

DSCN3940

Leave a Reply

