More Progress

Honey keeps making great progress around our little farm. If he didn’t work a full time job that drains every ounce of energy from him….he could probably finish this fence in a couple weeks. But, since he does have a full time job (praise God!) he tries to use every Saturday and some evenings to work on the cattle panel fence.

DSCN3735

DSCN3740

It’s looking very nice!

DSCN3733

All of this has yet to be fenced….poor Honey. Until then, I’ll run a long electric line to enclose the area finished and allow the cows to graze there. I’m especially concerned that Josie is off of the tethered line before she calves, so that she has full reign of the barn, to come and go as needed. I may keep Joy separated during that later stage of Josie’s pregnancy.

This is what her body condition is as of today.

DSCN3759

A picture of her pin bones. As she gets closer to freshening, I think her pin bones will move further apart…..I’m still learning.

DSCN3760

No signs here….but something to compare with at a later date.

DSCN3772

DSCN3764

This is the milking stall that Honey built for me outside until he can get the milk parlor finished….that’s of course when he’s not working on the fence! It’s not complete, but I’ve been able to train her to walk in and back out. She’s a pro! It also provides a safe place for me to touch her udder and handle her without the risk of getting kicked….once was enough….oh yea, I never told you about that. She kicked me good in the knee a month ago while I was trying to milk her out when I thought she had mastitis. But then I discovered it was Joy sucking her. But she did get me good right to the side of the knee cap and Honey never wants me to get hurt….so he built this right away. It works very well and I can milk outside as long as I need to. A little roof will help in the rain!

DSCN3749

Her rear quarter is shrinking, but that one quarter really does look like it is a blind quarter. The front quarters are swelling nicely. I think they call that springing???

DSCN3754

I have been congratulated on having the cleanest udders ever!!!!

I went out a few hours later to check on the girls and here they are.

DSCN3785

DSCN3792

“What already….enough of the rear shots!!!”

And look who came to visit Josie today…..

DSCN3798

I was weeding in the garden and I was watching Josie….she had that look on her face that said, “stranger MOM”. I watched for a while, and she kept standing…..then look who came closer to the fence. One of our new fawns. I was surprised the fawn was out alone…but her/his mama wasn’t anywhere in sight. They gazed at one another for a few seconds and then the fawn ran off.

Leave a Reply

