Summer Means Winter….huh?

Yes, summer means winter.  As I was contemplating digging my potatoes and pulling the peas, I realized that it’s time to replant for our fall and winter crops!

DSCN1939

Yikes, I haven’t even harvested my first green bean, and now I’m thinking of winter?  It’s kinda weird….in the winter, I’m thinking of Summer and in the Summer I’m thinking of Winter.  But that’s just the way it is in the world of gardening.  Especially if you plan on a winter garden.  I’ll get my potatoes dug and replant a bed so I can harvest more for the winter.  Last year, my fall potatoes were marvelous!

I’ll put in lots and lots of carrots in my small hoop houses since they did very well last winter.  AND it’s my hope to build a bigger hoop house using some left over cattle panels.  The cattle panels are 4X16, and I have three to use.  I’ll use T-post to anchor them to the ground and cinder blocks to hold down the 6 ml plastic.  It ought to be about 6 ft at the center ridge and since I’m only 5’3″ and shrinking daily….I can at least stand in the center.  I’ll use some 50 gal barrels to hold water for heat retention and try to build tables or shelves for the plants.  I don’t think I’m going to plant directly in the ground.  That’s my plan for now and of course since I’m a woman, I have the prerogative to change my mind!!!  😉

I’ll probably plant greens, including Kale, Spinach, Arugula and Lettuce, Beets, Turnips and I’ll transfer some Tomato Plants and possibly a couple Eggplants.  We’ll see.

Here’s a planting chart from Territorial Seed Co.

Territorial Seed Company

Territorial Seed Company

Leave a Reply

