Sour Cherry Cobbler

DSCN3680

My widower neighbor has a sour cherry tree that was perfectly ripe this week. I picked the lower branches from a step ladder and he….well, he rigged an extension ladder on the bucket of his John Deere and picked the higher branches.

When it was all said and done, we had around a gallon of cherries! He told me they’d be ready the third week of June and sure enough they were absolutely perfect. Our other widower neighbor couldn’t find his cherry pitter, so I did them by hand. It wasn’t a difficult job since they were ripe. I squeezed them and popped out the pit. Since pie making isn’t my favorite job, I decided I’d use my trusty old cobbler recipe. Oh, I’m so glad I did…I snuck a bite before my Dad’s 80th birthday party tomorrow (you can’t serve something you haven’t tasted!!!) and it is soooooo good!!!!!  It will be even better with a scoop of homemade raw milk ice cream! Mmmmm!

DSCN3677

Diane’s Sour Cherry Cobbler

4 Cups Sour Cherries

2 Tbsp Arrow Root

2/3 Cup Sugar (I used unrefined)

Cook cherries until it starts to thicken. Remove from heat. Pour into a pie dish or a 8×8 glass dish.

Cream butter and sugar.

1/2 Cup Butter

1/2 Cup Sugar (I used unrefined)

Add flour mixture to butter.

2/3 Cup Flour (I used Coconut Flour)

1/4 tsp Baking Powder

Pinch of Sea Salt

Then beat in:

1 Farm Fresh Egg

1/2 tsp Vanilla

Bake in a 375*F oven for 35-40 min’s.





Leave a Reply

