Tales of Peter Rabbit

DSCN3609

We haven’t seen much of this lately. We have had sooooo much rain that I’ve wished I was a duck! I’m not just talking dreary rainy days, I’m talking torrents of rain. Buckets and buckets. We drove over one of our local reservoirs yesterday that supplies water to the Washington DC suburbs and it was thankfully full to the brim! In the past few years we’ve hit bottom and it’s a horrible sight.

Late in the day yesterday I finally got out to pick peas and was graced by the shade of the white pines that border our yard. I sat and picked for quite a while. All the while praying and thanking God for a chance to slow down. Asking Him to watch over my two children who were at the time flying over the Atlantic to Germany to retrieve Sweet Girl’s belongings and bring her home. Then I was reminded of my love for one of my favorite children’s authors….Beatrix Potter.

And in the pain and sorrows of my life, I smiled and sighed. I wished for the days again, when I could hold babies in my arms and read to them. When all it took was a kiss and the warmth of my breast to calm their sorrows. But babies grow up and no matter how much we want to shield them from the harshness of this world, we cannot.

And so I release them, like arrows in the hands of a warrior. I let them fly. Honey and I have equipped them for such a time as this. We’ve taught them well. Now, it’s their time to come into adulthood and be strong.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord God will be with you where ever you go.”

Joshua 1:9

I chuckled at the thought of Peter filling his little jauws with peas. And as I brushed past the Chamomile I smiled.  Oh how Peter loved Mr McGregor’s Garden! I’ve managed to keep Peter, Flopsy, Mopsy and Cotton-tail out of my garden for 5 years. And for that I’m thankful. I sat and shelled peas for almost two hours….not really that many peas, just a job that takes time. Another slow job. Time to rest and relax while shelling peas. I harvested 2 Qts. and will blanch and freeze them today. These were the Dakota Peas, the Lincoln are just coming on.

Genesis 8:22

There will be seed time and harvest.

Leave a Reply

