Friday’s Fling

It’s Friday AGAIN!!! How does this happen so fast? I was always told it was age. I’m not so sure anymore. Yes, I am a lot older, but I think it’s a sign of our times. Too much to do. Not enough time. A rushed lifestyle that consumes our time with gadgets and freeways and stuff.

I guess that’s why I enjoy the art of creating. It tends to slow me down. It tends to reconnect me to the earth and all the beauty that God created for me to enjoy. The slow arts are my love; dyeing, spinning, knitting, gardening and even farming. My newest book is, “The Mother of All Arts: Agrarianism and the Creative Impulse” by Gene Logsdon. Something about that title grabbed at who I am at the chore. I can’t wait to dive into it!

Today’s featured item from my shop Butterflies & Bumble Bees is called Shibori.

DSCN0727

Shibori is a Japanese term for the method of dyeing cloth. I use a needle and thread to gather up the silk scarf into a tiny piece of folds and then I carefully pour or paint it with prepared dyes after the silk itself has been soaked in soda ash. I then wrap it in a plastic bag for 24 hrs. The next step of rinsing is always my favorite. I never really know how the silk will take the dye. I carefully cut the thread and unfold to find a visual surprise!

Leave a Reply

