Sunday Afternoon Slumber

Psalm 104:14

“He causes vegetation to grow for  the cattle, and all the earth produces for man to cultivate, that he may bring forth food out of the earth.”

DSCN3513

Moo Girls chewing their cud on a Sunday afternoon!

It was an absolutely gorgeous weekend and I gave myself permission to take it off.  Of course I did my animal chores, because just like little children, they depend on me.  But other than that, I didn’t work my tail off like I usually do.

On Saturday, I received my copy of “All Flesh is Grass: The Pleasure & Promises of Pasture Farming” by Gene Logsdon. EXCELLENT read!  I’ve been enjoying some of his writings in a magazine I pick up at the farm store and thought I’d give his books a try.  I’m glad I did.  I nearly finished the book in a day and a half.  Nothing difficult.  And thank goodness for me it doesn’t have to be read chapter by chapter….I’m really bad about that.  Ever since I was a kid, I read from the back to the front….it must have something to do with my Dyslexia.  None the less, I always comprehend…..Sometimes I even read from the bottom of the page up or sentences backwards.  I know weird.  But it works!  Maybe that’s why I’m a little confused most of the time!!!

~~~

Baby Joy’s horn nubbin fell off of the left side yesterday.  It was a bit bloody, but I put some of my healing salve on it which is what saved Abigail Adams life!  If it works for a chicken, it can work for a cow.  She has some loose poo this AM, maybe from the stress.  Poor girl.

Leave a Reply

