Abundant Spring Rains Water the Earth

Psalm 65:9-13

“You visit the earth and saturate it with water;  You greatly enrich it; the river of God is full of water; You provide them with grain when You have so prepared the earth.

You water the field’s furrows abundantly, You settle the ridges of it; You make the soil soft with showers, blessing the sprouting of its vegetation.

You crown the year with Your bounty and goodness, and the tracks drip with fatness.

The pastures in the uncultivated country drip and the hills gird themselves with joy.

The meadows are clothed with flocks, the valleys also are covered with grain: they shout for joy and sing together.”

dscn3255

It’s still too cool in Maryland to put out my tomatoes, peppers and eggplant.  Our last frost date is May16 (not official).  I cart my prized babies out to the front porch whenever there is a bit of sun.  Most of the time they’ve been sitting in our south facing front windows.

dscn3253

I can’t believe how beautiful all of my seedlings are this year.

dscn3256

I still have some tiny herb plants sitting under a 75W florescent shop light.  My friend Carol and I were going to share seeds, but these guys were so tiny that you couldn’t even begin to find them let alone share them.  So, I put the soilless soil (go figure) in the packet and then poured it into the peat containers….it worked!  The only one that didn’t come up was Skullcap.  I’ll try them at direct sow, but the packet said to start indoor.  I still have a bunch of herb seeds to direct sow once things dry up a little and I can get some more ground worked.

My spring garden is booming.  We have lots of spinach and kale from my fall garden.  Beets, Mustard, Lettuce, Mangels, Potatoes, Strawberries, Walking Egyptian Onions, Garlic, Peas and Carrots are all up and thriving in all this rain.


Leave a Reply

