Lemony Coconut Bread

A gal in my raw milk coop shared that she made the Lemon Coconut Quick Bread recipe from Farmgirl Fare. It sounded tempting to my taste buds and I set out to try and make it more NT friendly. For those of you new to my blog….I try to eat food according to the Weston A Price diet and most of those guidelines are found in Nourishing Traditons….hence, NT.

dscn32591

It’s touted as being tasty toasted! I tasted mine while still warm and just out of the pan and it is delish! I wanted to substitute Coconut Flour for regular unbleached flour and knowing that Coconut Flour causes the finished product to come out dense and dry, I added an extra egg and cut the baking time shorter. And because I didn’t want it to be a total flop, I used 1/2 regular unbleached flour. In the future I’d like to either try sprouting my own wheat and then grinding it or purchasing it from To Your Health. The other thing I might do differently is use honey, since honey causes your finished product to come out moist. I also only used 1/4 C fresh lemon juice because I only had one lemon. I’d increase the lemon juice definitely to 1/2 C! I can count on one hand how often I bake. Not because I don’t like to bake….well, truth be told, I hate baking….but because I like to eat!!!

dscn3263

Lemon Coconut Bread

1 1/2 C Coconut flour

1 C Unbleached Flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Mix dry ingredients in a med bowl. Set aside.

Beat together:

3 farm fresh eggs

1/4 C fresh squeezed lemon juice (I would increase it to 1/2 C)

3/4 C raw milk

1 C unsweetened shredded coconut

1 Tbsp fresh lemon zest

1 1/4 C unrefined sugar

Melt:

1/2 C butter

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix gently. Add melted butter and mix gently. Pat into greased loaf pan. Bake 60 minutes at 350*F. Cool on rack and pour out of pan gently after 15 minutes. Flip with plate to keep the loaf from breaking…..as mine did!

~~~

I just wanted to let you know how I really feel about this bread a day after it has cooled.  It is absolutely delish!!!  If you like pound cake, you will love my Lemony Coconut Bread…maybe soon to be called Cake!  Mmmm!  I wouldn’t change a thing, except maybe use all coconut flour or some sprouted flour to make it more NT friendly.  So good.

Leave a Reply

