How Many Sheep Did I Buy????

dscn3232

Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival 2009

The weather this weekend in Howard County, Maryland has been enough to make a girl cry, but it wasn’t enough to keep the thousands upon thousands from gathering at the Howard County Fairgrounds for the Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival.  In fact there were soooooo many people that I finally called it a day and left by 1PM on Saturday.

I was thankful that I arrived around 8:30AM and beat the crowds!  I hit my favorite spots and beat the lines.  I ate an early lunch and as you can see beat the lines.

dscn3201

I know, maybe I play too cautiously but I really HATE crowds!  I am a true country girl who loves wide open spaces.  By the time I left, it was impossible to even get into most booths and see what they had.   So, I packed it up early and headed home to give my feet a rest.

I regret that I didn’t get a picture of Bonnie.  I almost bought her and walked her home, but I thought it best to wait for Honey to agree.  Anyway, Bonnie is a black sheep from Daisyhill Farm in Glenelg, MD.  She was a  lovely yearling cross with a very nice fleece.  Her mama won champion ribbon …..I can’t remember where….maybe it was at the County Fair…just don’t remember.  Memory overload!

One reason I held back on Bonnie was I really love Border Leicester Sheep.  After looking at a million sheep this weekend, I’m finally able to identify them.  They have a mule shaped head.

Border Leicester

Border Leicester

So for now, I will hold off on the sheep and get good at cows!

For me one of the most amusing parts of the festival is seeing everyone wearing the most prized knitted pieces.  No matter how hot it is….women have on sweaters and shawls.

dscn3203

Notice the knitted socks too!

dscn3204

This lady even had on her knitted dress!  Pulling her cart on wheels because she didn’t bring her pack mule….her husband!!!  There were a few pack mules though!

dscn3213

This lady did a really lovely job on her purse…I love the pansies!

dscn3227

There were even people in funny hats playing music and dancing.

dscn3226

dscn3206

dscn3212

Kiparoo Farm

dscn3216

dscn3221

Wool Art

dscn3214

David Young from The Lion Potter

I first met David years ago when he had a produce stand near our home.  He is a master potter and he and his wife Junko sell pottery at the festival.

The Lion Potter

The Lion Potter

David’s wife Junko uses slab pieces and makes hand formed teapots.  That’s the kind of work I’m learning to do in my pottery class.  I’ll have to show you when something turns out….trial and error and I’m still in the learning process.

dscn3209

I ate my Lamb sandwich under the tent and listened to some hillbillie music and watched the cloggers.

dscn3220

dscn3217

dscn3218

Lots of dwarf goats.  I hate to say it but most sheep people don’t like goats!!!

I like them both…I’d like a goat but they jump fences and I don’t need a Houdini!

dscn3202

This was before the crowds showed up…you could actually see everything.

dscn3210

This guy was serious…he had his mug, and just about every gadget known to man tied to his back….just in case he needed it.

Other than watching people, my favorite part of the day was watching sheep.

Ewes not fat….ewes just fluffy!!!! With legs!

dscn3192

dscn3194

This black ram was huge (second from the end).  They kept repositioning him to show off his hind quarters.

dscn3196

dscn3193

Jacob Lamb

Jacob Lamb

What a rack!

Market Lambs

Market Lambs

The market lambs were all lined up for inspection.  Then the auction began.

Market Lamb

Market Lamb

This was a fine looking lamb.  The guy in front of me won her in the auction.  She went for $115 as a 4H lamb for his children.  Very nice.

So, do you want to know how many sheep I came home with……..

6!!!  One a border leicester!!!  My favorite!

dscn3243

See my little lambs!  6

I didn’t buy a bunch of expensive yarn.  I’m way too practical for that.  I can’t wear most of it anyway cause it makes me itch like crazy….I know what I like and I like what I know.  I can wear Merino and Border Leicester.

I hit Little Barn early and bought 6 bags of Blue Faced Border Leicester Superwash Fleece to spin and dye.

dscn3250

I got it for $6.29 CASH.  A pound for around $12!!!  Good deal indeed.

I have 1 pound of Romney Fleece that I’ve almost finished spinning and realized that I need at least 1.5 lbs for a mens sweater.  Soooo, I was in pursuit of finding more that would be a match….BINGO!  I found some that matches perfectly!

dscn3248

I have to blend it a little bit but it will work great.

dscn3251

I got a new pair of slippers.

And a much needed sign!!!!

dscn3242

dscn3239

And since I love love love honey, I bought some local raw honey from Feederbrook Farm!!!  6 lbs!

Cranberry and blueberry!  It is so yummy!

Leave a Reply

