Spring Planting

dscn0696

In spite of the death of my friend and companion, Boomer, I was in the garden planting yesterday. That’s what He would want me to do. Little Lady was a bit lost and not quite her spunky self. We allowed her to see him and smell him so she would know that he was dead. She surprised us so much with her “intelligence”. (She’s never been the brightest crayon in the box) But she looked in the grave after we placed him in and she stood there for the longest time. We gave her lots and lots of TLC last evening as we sat around and shared all of our fond memories of our great friend, The Love Dog.

My newest garden gadget is a soil thermometer! I know not very exciting, but kinda important. My soil temp is 55*F and plenty warm enough to begin spring planting. Peas & potatoes are ready to go in at 45*F. I must admit that I really don’t know how much an ounce of peas is….so….well, I think that I ordered enough for at least 2-3 yrs! It looks like the same goes for the corn and just about everything else. That’s ok, I’ll plant again in the fall and try to do some successive planting with the corn to stretch out the harvesting.

dscn2502

I put in a 4’x12′ bed of peas yesterday and several rows of beets. Today I’ll get my potatoes in. I usually have them in on St Patrick’s Day, but with Boomer hanging by a thread, I couldn’t. So today is the day. It looks like it’s going to be an amazingly gorgeous spring day….which by the way officially begins tomorrow!

(Addendum: The weather changed rather quickly and became a drizzly rainy sorta day. I decided to wait on the potatoes, but then I got a surprise from the man in brown…he delivered my strawberry crowns! I decided that a little rain wouldn’t hurt me and it would be good for my new plants and would help get my mind off of Boomer. I picked one of my 4’x8′ bed that held leeks and onions last year. After I turned the soil I decided it would be a good idea to make sure that strawberries love onions! I ran up to the house and looked it up in “Carrots Love Tomatoes” by Louise Riotte. Perfect, strawberries do love onions! I dug up all the Egyptian Walking Onions that were still there and divided them and used them to border the strawberries. All in all, I put in 20 strawberry plants and 20 or so Walking Onions.)

This is a wonderful little book. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

