Death

blog-2-0521

I’ve come to realize that death is untimely. It comes when we least expect it because we in no way have control over it.

My beloved dog, Boomer is dying (unless he pulls a Lazarus on us again). He’s not eating and is very lifeless today. The doc says he has a tumor either on his spleen or liver. She gave him some med’s for pain and doesn’t expect him to last long. I brought him home to die.

Death is a part of life. They go together.

One is embraced. The other is rejected. You can’t have one without the other.

Dealing with Boomer’s condition today has made me think about a subject that most of us if not all of us push aside. As I watch Boomer today and as I try to make him comfortable, that’s all I can do. I’ve struggled with the thought of what our society has deemed acceptable, and that’s euthanasia. To end his suffering. To end the life of someone who is dying.

Yes He’s dying. And to euthanais him would really only end my suffering. But, I can’t bring myself to do it. I will care for him and love him until he breaths his last. Tears flow as I comfort him and as I say my good byes. I think that’s what we all want in the end is to say good bye. We are not all given that chance though. “The Boy” as I affectionately refer to Ben when speaking to Boomer, is in New Orleans and so badly wants to be here to say good bye. Boomer was Ben’s 10th birthday gift.

I live in comfort. For the follower of Christ, we go from life to life. We never experience death. Death is separation from God, Abba, Daddy, Father. I believe that Scripture clearly makes it known that animals know their creator. I’m uncertain of their destiny, but I know that our new heaven and new earth will be filled with animals, Scripture tells us so. I take comfort in knowing that God, Abba, Daddy, Father, made the animals and said, “it is good.” He used the lowly animals even in the event of His Son’s birth. I know He cares for my Boomer and He gave me this beautiful animal as my companion and friend. I will miss his huge presence. I will miss his unbelievable personality and ability to care for me. I will miss his protection. I will miss him.

As I go through this today and probably for several days or weeks, my heart will begin to let go. Maybe it’s my age, but I think about death a lot more than I used to. Honey and I are past middle age. Not that we are even guaranteed that, but since we’ve made it this far it’s more of a reality. Our parents are very aged. Honey’s Mom & Dad will be 87 in 2009. My Dad will be 80 and my Mom 75 in the coming year. It’s inevitable.

That is why we should love passionately every moment of every day. We never know when our last will be. We should celebrate our days even for their ordinary happenings. Life on this earth is short. Eternity is forever. Sorrow and Suffering are our companions and JOY is our choice.

Leave a Reply

