In Search For A Cow

As you know we were in the process of purchasing Butter Cupp from the Cupp Farm in VA. Unfortunately Butter “went down” last week and wasn’t expected to live. BUT she did! As a result of being down for several days the farmer did not think it was conscionable to follow through with the sale. Even though I believed that this cow was the one that God wanted for us, He had other plans. In retrospect, I can see now that God wanted Tammy and I to meet for reasons beyond our own imaginings. I have the gift of intercessory prayer and I know now that it was for this reason we met. Tammy lost her son only 6 short weeks before we stopped by cow shopping. Her son was a beautiful 18 yr old with a great future, but his life was taken tragically for reasons we will never understand. I cannot know Tammy’s pain or even begin to understand what she is dealing with on a daily basis. BUT, I do know the ONE who does and I go before His throne every day and have remembered my dear friend ever since the day we met on Nov 7. She has become a friend and encourager. For this I am so thankful.

I sat on my bed Sat morning asking God to help me understand why Butter was not meant to be ours. To help me see His plan. To go before me and give me wisdom in searching for a Jersey. You know how these things go, I wasn’t looking and there it was. My plans to visit my family in DE on Sat changed. It was the coldest morning we’ve had yet in MD. Below 20*F when I got up. It never got out of the 30’s and it was COLD with an Alberta Clipper coming through the region and snow in our forecast. (Which by the way is how my new boots got clean!!! See a reason for everything!!!)

I bundled up in my Arctic Ladies Carhart Christmas coat with my new steel toed cowgirl boots on and headed out in search of Jersey Cows. I found the farm and the farmers hard at work on their commercial dairy farm. They have 100 head of Holsteins and Jerseys. The reason for selling off their registered Jersey herd is due to a shift in roles. Their adult son wants to take over the big farm and the farmer and his wife want to move half their herd over to their house a few hundred acres over and build a new processing facility for bottled milk.

As I was given a tour of the herd of heifers, I noted to myself that I was glad that the ground was frozen solid. Nothing was movable that day, not even cow manure. Then we entered the pit or whatever it’s called where the cows are before going into the milking parlor. Remember we’re talking 100 cows! As soon as the thought about keeping my new boots clean crossed my mind, we stepped into what I really can’t begin to describe! My new boots had been christened!!!! Oh boy had they. It was all I could do not to vomit as we slushed our way through to meet the new bull calf.

Anyway…….to make a long story short. I arrived 1 hour after a Jersey bull calf was born. I was really hoping to see the event, but got there to see him struggling to stand and looking a bit confused in his new world. His Mama was the Jersey I originally found the ad for.

dscn2165

Still wet, with steam coming off of him, shivering in the cold. What a shock.

dscn2168

Mama was doing what Mama’s do….admiring her young.

dscn2167

Trying to stand….but not quite yet!

As it turned out I had a long chat with the farmer while standing in 20-30*F weather on frozen ground for 2 hrs. It was a good chance to see how my boots were going to do….they did fine, but the Merino Wool socks failed the test! However, I don’t think anything could have kept me warm on that morning.

While there I picked out a nice looking little Jersey heifer. A bull was being brought in on Sunday for….well….you know. And I said I’d like to have that heifer bred. They also had many new calves for sale of which I now have my heart set on the October calf. I think I convinced Honey that two Jerseys are in order!!!! It didn’t take much convincing. My desire is to raise the calf on grass and sell her as a bred heifer. Or even to keep her after I see what my heifer drops next fall.

Who ever thunk? Me a real cowgirl!

I’m reminded of the Proverb 31 woman…..11) Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. 16) She considers a field and buys it;  Or a cow or a goat or a chicken!

Leave a Reply

