Freedom At Last!

dscn2090

Today my new chickens tasted freedom at Peaceful Acres. I finished tightening up the fence and adding a gate. I was awake about 3AM (must be those menopause hormones again!), so I layed there for an hour praying and thinking. I came up with a plan to make a gate. I’m not very handy with hammers and nails. But I found something that has been a life saver for this old gal. It’s those wonderful electrical ties. I know they look tacky, but when you don’t have any other choice and you don’t know what you’re doing, they work GREAT! I’m not sure how experienced people do these things, but with Honey so busy at work I just hate to ask him to do one more thing for me, especially for our newest addition to our homestead. He’s always more than willing, but I just hate to. Besides, I really love and am so grateful to be able to again, be outside breathing fresh country air and working hard.

I worked for 2.5 hrs and when I finished I let the girls out of their coop. I had Lady (Cocker Mix) on a leash looped over the garden post. Boomer (Lab) was ok. Lady was shaking like a leaf. Boomer started his hopping. Lady started drooling. Boomer started barking. It was a real show. I stayed with the girls who seemed content even with the dogs starring down their backs. The little Plymouth Rock kept trying to escape through the chicken wire….that really ruffled my feathers. She finally realized that she couldn’t get through….thank God and she stopped. They ate some of the veggies I’d put in the chicken yard and explored in and out of the coop. Eating and scratching and making a new home for themselves.

dscn2087

The dogs electric fence is right about at the line of the chicken fence…not too smart. Lady sat completely erect and drooled. You could hear her teeth chattering. I could tell she really wanted to attack. Boomer laid down and had his belly rubbed. When I came in the house they were both obedient and came with me. I’m not going to trust them for some time. Lady is going to constantly be watching for fried chicken. Boomer will get used to them and not give them a second glance.

dscn2086

dscn2089

dscn2088

The coop seems to be working out fine. When I checked on them last evening, they were roosting everywhere. The little ladder seems to be Roxie’s place and the others were up on the nesting boxes. I’m trying to figure out how to build another coop  (yeah, myself….that ought to be a sight) or buy a used something or other and convert it like I did Gpa’s doghouse. I’d really like to get 3 more chickens. But we’ll have to wait and see.

Next it’s putting the fence up for Butter Cupp. We’ve settled on a “barn”. It will be big enough for Butter Cupp and her calf. With an area to fence off for the calf if needed and a separate milking parlor. Plus an enclosed area for hay. With the price of hay, we just can’t let any of it get wet and go to waste. They keep saying cash is KING, so lets see what kind of a deal we get…..KERI, I need your wheeling and dealing help!!!!!!!

~~~

I got another egg today. I call them prizes! Aside from reaching in a grabbing chicken poop it’s the most rewarding part of raising chickens, that and eating them. I love to make a shake with raw milk and eggs. Here’s my recipe.

Diane’s Shake

1 C Colostrum (optional-I use for my health)

1 C raw Milk

3-4 heaping Tbsp raw Cream

Blueberries

1-2 Tbsp Maple Syrup

2 fresh raw eggs

Dash of Sea Salt

Blend it all together. Mmmmm I love this. It’s so healthy and gives me so much energy. It’s filled with nutrient dense foods that bring healing.

Leave a Reply

