See Ya

“That house was a perfect house. Whether you like food or sleep or story telling or singing or just sitting and thinking, or a pleasant mixture of them all merely to be there was a cure for weariness, fear and sadness.”

~~J. R. R. Tolkien~~

Honey and I are heading for our favorite place on earth. We will enjoy many sunrises and sunsets. Read several books and take a few strolls down the lane. Our big day will be driving over to the Smokey’s to find “Cutter Gap”. Cutter Gap was the fictitious name for Chapel Hollow. The Ebeneezer Mission is where John Ambrose Wood and Leonora Whitaker met and married. Giving birth to three children one of which was Catherine Wood Marshall. The wife of Peter Marshall; US Senate Chaplain. Catherine Marshall touched my life 37 yrs ago with her novel, Christy and continues to touch my life today with her numerous other books. The one that is nearly fallen to pieces that has been my companion through the past three years of suffering, is “Beyond Our Selves“. I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve read it.  In this book God, through Catherine Marshall has taught me so much about living beyond myself. So, Honey and I are going on an adventure to find “Cutter Gap”. It was the story of “Christy” that I, a young girl of 13 who just received Christ as her personal Saviour and Lord, was touched by the moving story of such a girl like Christy. It was then that I dreamed of being a wife,a teacher, a mother, and a missionary. I’ve lived out my dreams and God has been so gracious to me to give me more than I could ever have asked for.

When ever Honey and I drive over the mountain top into North Carolina on the Blue Ridge Parkway, my heart sings, “I’m home”. Honey and I planned this trip months ago, before my new diagnosis and I think that it’s the perfect place to be. Resting and listening.

Sometimes I have what I call God Revelations. And I had one just before I woke up the other day. This is what I heard and was inspired to write down: “The road of suffering leads to the place of surrender.”

Yeah.

Even though Nina has a computer in Rivendell, I won’t be checking in for a while….it’s time to rest!

Rivendell Cabin

Leave a Reply

