Can You Pick the Impostures????

Several people lately have asked me about using Xylitol. Personally, I’ve told them that I don’t use it nor do I recommend it. I tried it last year after I’d given up sweeteners to follow Dr Ron’s suggested diet for healing Lyme Disease, but around Thanksgiving, I thought, what the heck, I’m going to try it in a pie or two. I did and of course I loved being able to have that sweet taste. But, after I ate it a couple times, my Lyme symptoms seemed to worsen. My joints hurt, I itched, and I had just a general ill feeling. I stopped it and those feelings went away. I totally forgot about it in the cupboard until recently when asked about it by a few Lyme sufferers. I pulled it out and wondered, since I’m feeling 100% recovered, I’d like to see how it affects me. To be honest, I hate the taste. But more importantly, I really hate putting something into my mouth now that isn’t “REAL”!!! This is a processed product. I believe it just makes me feel yucky. So, it’s my opinion that unless it’s real food then we ought not eat it.

I know how hard it is to give up ALL sweets for over a year! But it’s not the end of the world. You must do it to heal. You must get used to eating sour foods. Train your taste buds to like other foods. As Dr Richard Shultz says, “This won’t kill you, but the disease you have will!”

I found an article on the Weston A Price website. You can go there and do a search for whatever topic you’re wondering about. Here are some excerpts of an article by Jim Earles as to why you shouldn’t consume Xylitol.

“The ADA description hints at more than it actually says. Sugar alcohols are not broken down in the stomach, so they make their way intact into the bowels. It is here in the bowels that the “passive diffusion” mentioned by the ADA takes place, meaning that the presence of the sugar alcohols draws water into the bowels. This leads to the fermentation by undesirable bacteria and a resultant partial degradation or “metabolism” of the sugar alcohols. (This fermentation of intestinal bacteria can lead to or exacerbate problems with candida and other yeast problems.) The direct result of this chain of events is the severe stomach cramping and diarrhea that many people experience after ingesting too much sugar alcohol. So how much is too much? The above quotation lists the official, generally agreed upon thresholds for sorbitol and mannitol, but each sugar alcohol has its own threshold. However, certain individuals have been known to experience reactions at much lower dosages. Lactitol in particular may be problematic in small doses, especially for lactose-sensitive individuals.

“While sugar alcohols may indeed occur in nature, their usage as sweeteners also suffers from the same problem as many other sweeteners, pharmaceutical drugs and other substances today–one single factor from a natural food item is being isolated from its normal co-constituents and consumed at levels that are difficult to obtain when eating the food item itself. Rarely, if ever, does this situation lend itself to good health. While sugar alcohols are certainly the lesser of two evils when compared to the non-nutritive sweeteners, they should be consumed with prudence if at all. There are better choices.”

Healthy Options

“Clearly, most artificial sweeteners in use today pose significant dangers. Mother Nature did not intend for us to suffer from the Sugar-Free Blues. There are many healthy alternatives to both refined sugar and artificial sweeteners, including maple syrup, dehydrated sugar cane juice (sold as Sucanat and Rapadura), date sugar, raw unfiltered honey and molasses. Consumed in moderation as part of a nutrient-dense diet that includes plenty of good quality fats, these mineral-rich, naturally sweet foods allow us to enjoy the sweet taste while nourishing the body at the same time. In strict moderation, they can even be used by diabetics in conjunction with a nutrient-dense, high-fat diet.”

emphasis mine

excerpts taken from article at WAPF

Disclaimer: I am not a medical doctor. These are only my opinions and experiences.