Food As Medicine

A Jersey Girl from which High Butterfat milk comes from.

Isn’t she a beaut?

I found this article by Dr Ron Schmid in 2005 when I was near death from Chronic Lyme Disease. I tried to make sense of it then, but my brain was so terribly infected with neurotoxins that I couldn’t even speak let alone comprehend what I read.  At that time I was bleeding from the bowels, I had bells palsy, I couldn’t speak or think, I had no balance, I couldn’t write my own name, I couldn’t walk, I had all the imaginable pains that come with Lyme, I had encephalitis, I had double vision, I had deafness, I had constant gut pain, I had gall bladder pain, I had ovarian cystic disease, I had numbness in my hands and feet, I had tingling all over my skin with the feeling of bugs crawling, I had burning and itching every where, I had hives,I had a low body temp, I had chest pains and heart palpitations, I had no energy.  God only knows if there was more, I just can’ t remember.  It’s amazing that when healing comes we really do begin to live again and we don’t dwell on what was.  But I never want to forget those still suffering.

I never forgot Dr Ron’s words and I tried hard to pursue finding raw dairy in my state which has made it illegal. It was only a year later that I did find a source for raw dairy and soon after that my healing began.

This article saved my life. Trust what Dr Ron is saying, it’s true. You can call for a phone consult, his office is very kind and helpful. Or you can pursue it alone.  Give it a try. What have you got to loose? Or rather, what have you got to gain?  LIFE!

I continue to follow the diet that Dr Ron lays out. I have been able to add sourdough whole wheat bread and occasional raw honey. I eat ample amounts of raw butter daily as well as grass-fed meats with fat. When I started following his diet, I ate lots of raw egg yolks in shakes. I only recommend doing that if you know the source of your eggs. I took at least 2 Tbsp of Blue Ice Cod Liver Oil daily. I now take 1 Tbsp and that seems to be working to keep me at this high level of healing. I haven’t veared from the diet, knowing that to do so would put my healing in jeopardy.

His conclusions about cheating are in my opinion correct. In the past when I followed a “good” diet from my old Dr G, I could reach a certain level of healing, but not complete due to the lack of essential raw dairy and fermented foods. I’d fall off the wagon and binge on sugars and refined foods only to find myself in chronic pain and illness again.

This healing is too precious to me to ever consider losing it now. I will eat the Weston A Price diet as long as I live. And Live I will!!!  You too can heal from lyme.  Won’t you join me on this journey?

Look for my new website: Hope To Heal.  I’ll be doing local workshops in Maryland on how I healed from Lyme Disease using food as medicine.  I’ll be adding a forum for you to chat with others on this journey and I’ll also be conducting local cooking classes to demonstrate how to prepare these wonderful healing foods.  You can reach me currently at: jim_bob_c@yahoo.com

Please be patient with the website, since my computer guru is in Germany!!!

Disclaimer:  I am not a medical doctor.  This is only my opinion and experience.

Leave a Reply

