Happy Autumn!

“There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under heaven.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1

It’s finally our favorite time of year. I know. I probably say that for Spring and Summer too, but never Winter!

The nights are in the mid 40’s here in Central Maryland. The leaves are just starting to change and that means it’s apple season! We only have one good producing tree that is organic and doesn’t put out the prettiest apples, but we know what’s in them. I picked a bushel yesterday and made a batch of applesauce to pack in the freezer.

I bought a long picker pole last year and it made the job very easy.

Another sign of my healing. Last year, I couldn’t even pick them and could hardly get a couple apples cut up and strained into sauce. This year, I picked a bushel, cut up and cooked enough for 15 pints. I’ll do the rest this week.

It’s so easy to make applesauce. Since these apples are far from perfect in shape and have all kinds of spots on them, I just wash and cut them in quarters. I use my stock pot and cook them down. I needed a tiny bit of water to start. Then just put a lid on and let them cook down for a couple hours. I caught them just as the bottom was scorching! Put it through my mom’s old food mill and popped it into pint jelly jars. I’m going to freeze it so I left a good 1″ head space so the jars don’t crack.

I added a little raw honey, cinnamon and ground cloves. Mmmmmm

I plan to go apple picking to make some pies for the freezer too. There’s nothing like pulling out a ready made apple pie in Mid January and plopping some homemade raw milk ice cream on top while watching the snow fall. Mmmmm

The Good Life!!!!!

Leave a Reply

