More Old Treasures

My in laws are moving for the first time in 50 yrs. YES, 50 years. That’s a ton of stuff and even more memories.

Honey and I went for one more load of their “old” treasures that they don’t want to take to Virginia with them. They are moving from the hussle and bussle of the DC metro area called Beltsville, to live on the same farm as Honey’s sister.

My father in law started his profession as a PhD Geneticist with the USDA in Beltsville in 1952. They moved from Texas when Honey was 6 years old and have been in the house they built, literally by hand since 1958.

My in laws are 86 years old. There are really so many memories and it’s been a slow and painful process. But God Bless them, they have nearly finished this longggg and painful task of sorting through all the stuff they’ve accumulated.

We only live 30 minutes from them, so we’ve gone for our van load of treasures every so often. You know, one man’s junk is another man’s treasure!

This old cabinet came out of the Brownsville TX Christian Church kitchen in the 50’s. It’s been passed down for 4 generations. Becca has laid claim to it. But until she has her own place, we’ll keep it. I think it will work well on our kitchen wall.

It has this beautiful green glass in it. So much character.

My second load of apple crates. I love these old boxes.

I also got a great old laundry cart….it needs a new fabric basket, but it’s so cute! I’ll show you once I get it cleaned up.

Here’s my greatest catch!!!

It’s the old dog house. It’s more like the Hilton Hotel for dogs…..but guess what it’s for????

It’s for my chickens!!!!!!!

It took 4 strong men and me to get this thing in our little Ford Ranger.

It’s more like a small shed. It’s so perfect to put 4 girls in! I think they will be very happy.

Now it’s home and we’ve got to figure out how to get it out of the truck?????????????

We don’t have those strong neighbors that Gpa had.

Leave a Reply

