The Road To Reality

What is this life if, full of care,

We have no time to stand and stare.

— from “Leisure,” by W.H. Davies

My Honey and I recently watched The Second Chance, starring Michael W. Smith, an inspiring contemporary Christian music artist. During these years of trials in my life, I have come face to face with what is real. I grew intolerant to the acting that goes on in life. I grew intolerant to the playing of “church”. I longed to just “be” the church not “go” to church

I’m not standing in judgment, I’m being honest. Talk to anyone facing a chronic life changing illness and they will tell you that they have few friends anymore. I think I understand this now. Most don’t understand what it’s like to be sick. They don’t have time to listen or wait with you as you heal. They are too busy.

In The Second Chance, it was all about “real life”. It was the contrast between the “suburb church” that looked good but didn’t have time for the “inner city church”. They were all too willing to give of their hard earned money but please don’t ask them to give of their time and actually rub shoulders with the poor. It was during this movie that I turned to my Honey and said, “that’s the church I want.” The church in the inner city. Passing out sandwhiches to the homeless. Feeling the pain of the fatherless.

And so, we have been “churchless” for three years trying to find the place where we can “be” the Church. And I think I’ve found it…it’s not a building, or a denomination or a certain kind of people. It’s about living out our faith and having it challenged. It’s about being Christ to the least of these. It’s more than what we’ve made it to be in America. It’s really about what K.P. Yohannan writes about it in….

If you haven’t read it I highly suggest it.

It’s all about this:

My daughter Becca has been volunteering at Baltimore Fee Store for her last summer home before she leaves for Germany to spend 7 months using her photographic gift in the field of mission work with YWAM. She has been faithful to being at the Free Store every week to sort through tons and tons of donated material….even sorting out dirty used underware! She has tried to recruit her friends. It wasn’t until last week when WBAL did a piece on the Free Store that I saw first hand what went on there.

That evening Becca came into our room before we turned the lights out to just have time. We talked about the Free Store and she told us more. I turned to Honey and said, “that’s my kind of church, that’s how I want to “be” the church”. He smiled. See, Baltimore Free Store isn’t a “real” church. It is “THE CHURCH”. It’s the hands and feet of Jesus. It’s LOVE in action.

Every month they take a big truck load of goods to a local area and hand out what people need. Clothes, kitchen appliances, whatever they have that’s been donated. They give it away for FREE! It was that act, that pulled at my heart. All I could say was, “I want to come. And I’ll come this week to help at the Free Store”. So, this week, I am going to church at the Baltimore Free Store. I know, many of you are quoting the favorite verse, “Do not forsake the gathering together of yourselves.” Oh, I’ve heard a lot of that for the last three years. BUT No one came to be the church as I lay dying. But let me remind you “that where ever two or more are gathered together, I am with them.”

I hope you’ll reconsider your view of “the church”.

Here is a story called Pearls Before Breakfast that you must read.

Then think about it!

“Koyaanisqatsi” is a Hopi word. It means “life out of balance.”

If we can’t take the time out of our lives to stay a moment and listen to one of the best musicians on Earth play some of the best music ever written; if the surge of modern life so overpowers us that we are deaf and blind to something like that — then what else are we missing?

Who else are we missing?

This is just about me. It’s about where I’ve come to from where I’ve been. The church is filled with people who come, who sit, who leave and who are empty. As you sit in your church this Sunday, look around you and think about what it’s all about. Be Jesus to the person who looks lost. The person who looks poor. The person who looks homeless.

~Love like Jesus~

excerpts taken from “Pearls Before Breakfast”-The Washington Times

Leave a Reply

