Act Of Worship

Romans 12:1

“Therefore, I urge you brothers (sis’s too), in the view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God-which is your reasonable act of worship.”

Something has happened lately which is a HUGE milestone in my healing from Chronic Lyme Disease. I am moving my body. Three years ago, I thought death was knocking on the door of my life. It was then that I sat on the sofa for 5 months wishing I could just walk 50 feet to the mailbox. Then a year later, I was ecstatic to climb Klingman’s Dome in my beloved Great Smoky Mountains to celebrate my 25th wedding anniversary.

Three years after the struggle for my life, I am happy to share that I have successfully walked and even begun running, for 1 week now without any measurable pain in my feet or lymie knee. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but talk to any lymie and they will tell you it’s monumental. That’s a HUGE milestone to mark my healing! 😀

Last week when I started this adventure out my front door, I was motivated by the fact that I will be 50 yrs old in 2.5 months. During these last three years since activity was near to nothing, I’ve gained 25 lbs. So, I made a secret pact with myself. That I would try walking 1 mile. Then I walked 2. Today I walked/ran 3 miles. It’s my goal to loose most of this weight by my 50th birthday, if not half of it. And possibly to run in The Baltimore Marathon’s 5K race in October??? Sshhh, we’re not broadcasting this! I ran that race in October 2001. It was my first race and I won!!! I won because I started.

I love running. I’m motivated by other runners on the road. That’s the only way I finished the 5K. I gave each person ahead of me a name, and I made it my goal to pass them. I did all the way to the finish line. This morning I was walking and a runner passed me on a dead end street….she had to come back behind me….so I started walking faster and faster, and then finally ran another 1/2 mile! I just couldn’t let her pass me on her way back up the street. It would be my luck she lived in the Cul d Sac. 😀 😀 😀 But that didn’t stop me….I ran! My Becca is running now and she and I have a plan…when she comes back from Germany, we’re going to run a 1/2 Marathon together (that’s about 13 miles!). Before the bottom fell out on my life in 05, I was training for a marathon and had gotten up to 7 miles. I know I can do it Now I pray that my healing will continue and Jesus would complete what He has started in me. When that happens folks, you will not be able to contain me from singing praises to my God!

Everyone who starts and finishes a race is a winner. Scripture tells us the same thing. Run the good race and keep the faith.

As I was walking up our street this AM, I had on my iPod. The praise & worship songs nearly brought me to my knees right there on the street. I see this activity as an act of worship. You have to be so far down in the pit that once you are pulled out, there is nothing left but worship. This song by Sara Goves describes what my life has been like for the last 37 years of this struggle and more specifically the last three.


Less Like Scars


It’s been a hard year
But I’m climbing out of the rubble
These lessons are hard
Healing changes are subtle
But every day it’s

Less like tearing, more like building
Less like captive, more like willing
Less like breakdown, more like surrender
Less like haunting, more like remember

And I feel you here
And you’re picking up the pieces
Forever faithful
It seemed out of my hands, a bad situation
But you are able
And in your hands the pain and hurt
Look less like scars and more like
Character

Less like a prison, more like my room
It’s less like a casket, more like a womb
Less like dying, more like transcending
Less like fear, less like an ending

And I feel you here
And you’re picking up the pieces
Forever faithful
It seemed out of my hands, a bad situation
But you are able
And in your hands the pain and hurt
Look less like scars

Just a little while ago
I couldn’t feel the power or the hope
I couldn’t cope, I couldn’t feel a thing
Just a little while back
I was desperate, broken, laid out, hoping
You would come

And I need you
And I want you here
And I feel you

And I know you’re here
And you’re picking up the pieces
Forever faithful
It seemed out of my hands, a bad, bad situation
But you are able

And in your hands the pain and hurt
Look less like scars (x3)

And more like
Character

As an addendum to this. On Herb Mentor, our Village Herbalist, Heather taught us about herbs for aches and pains. I have been applying healing salves to my knee and feet and if there is any pain, it quickly leaves!!! That’s very good news! I pray this will last for me. I so want to live and love life. I want to celebrate my 50th birthday with shouts of praise! And like the proverb 31 woman;”she can laugh at the days to come.”

Leave a Reply

