Love Your Liver!

A healthy redish purple liver.

Most of us don’t pay much attention to our internal organs. If you are struggling with a chronic health issue as I have been you must learn to know and love your organs. During the past three years, my battle with chronic lyme disease taught me to know my organs intimately. I could tell you from day to day which organ I was experiencing pain in. Knowing this helped me to understand why I felt the way I did. And it helped me treat the organ with TLC.

I did many detoxing cleanses that gave my body a rest and a time to heal, especially my liver. I used coffee enemas to detox my liver which was being loaded with neurotoxins and biotoxins from the lyme disease. Dr. Max Gerson “invented” the coffee enema in the late 1800’s to cure his migraines. And believe it or not, coffee enemas was in the Merck Medical Manual until the 1970’s when it was removed due to space! Here’s an excerpt from the “Gerson Therapy Handbook”.

“The introduction of a qt of coffee solution into the colon will dilute portal blood and, subsequently, the bile. Theophylline and theobromine, major constituents of coffee, dilate blood vessels and counter inflammation of the gut. The palmitates of coffee enhance glutathione S-transferase which is responsible for the removal of many toxic radicals from serum. Finally, the fluid of the enema itself stimulates the visceral nervous system promoting peristalsis and the transit of diluted toxic bile from the duodenum out the rectum. Because the stimulating enema is retained for 15 minutes and because all the blood in the body passes through the liver nearly every three minutes, these enemas represent a form of dialysis of blood across the gut wall.”

“Through these mechanisms, the therapy of Dr Max Gerson appears to a) reduce serum toxins to eliminate chronic challenge to the damaged normal cells, b) improve cell potassium ion content, c) reduce cell sodium content, d) reduce cell swelling through improved water structuring d) increase cell mitochondria count and activity, and f) supply micronutrients necessary for cell energy production and repair. The contribution of low serum toxin levels by regular administration of coffee enemas is basic to increased cell energy production, enhanced tissue integrity, improved circulation, improved immunity, and improved tissue repair and regeneration which have been observed clinically to result from the administration of the combined regime of Gerson.”

The one organ I learned to love the most is my liver. Why the liver? The liver is where our life force comes from. Without a healthy liver you will die. You might think it would be the heart. No, for me it’s the liver. My liver cleans the blood that flows to my heart. I don’t want toxic blood flowing to my heart. Below is a list of just some of the responsibilities of the liver.


Among its many responsibilities, the busy liver spends its day:

This is a picture of a diseased liver. It looks nothing like a healthy, bright redish purple liver.


A tired, overworked and congested liver can result in:

The list goes on and on. If you’re dealing with any of these symptoms, it’s time to take control of your health by cleansing your liver.

There are many foods that assist the liver. Among them are bitter herbs such as dandelion, burdock, and sarsparilla just to name a few. Donna Gates of Body Ecology suggests that Wasabi and Artichoke do so as well. Eating lots of garlic and drinking Beet Kvass which is a blood tonic.  Eating apples which are loaded with pectin will also help the liver detox since pectin acts as a chelator.

Beet Kvass

Beet Kvass is an old Russian blood tonic. I make mine with fresh sweet beets, preferably picked that day. Peel and cut them into coarse pieces and place in a Qt jar with 1 Tbsp of sea salt and 2 Tbsp (or 2 ice cube size) of whey. Fill jar with filtered water and allow to sit on counter for 2 days. Shake the jar whenever you think of it. Then put the Kvass in the frig. I like mine to cure more in the frig for another month or so. It will then be very dark and have a good salty beet taste. Sally Fallon suggests that you can make a second batch with the beets when finished. But every time I’ve tried this, it’s molded. So, I only use the beets for one jar serving at a time. Drink in Am & PM. It’s very refreshing.

I hope you’ll learn to love your liver!  Treat it well by not loading it down with toxins from poor food choices and drugs.  Learn to brew herbal infusions and have some coffee….in a bag not a cuppa!

Leave a Reply

