I’m Back with Elderberries

Praise God, that was a short lived attack. Another wonderful testimony to my healing. I did try to take it easy for a couple days. But that’s hard for me to do now that I’ve been given this precious gift of life. A glorious gift! Thank you Lord. “Those who wait on the Lord, shall renew their strength. They shall soar on wings like eagles, they shall run and not grow weary, they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

Sambucus canadensis

When I was on my mowathon last week I had a tremendous surprise! No, I haven’ t seen a snake yet. I found an Elderberry Tree!!!! Wahoo!!! I ran in off the mower and looked it up on the internet. Yep, that was an Elderberry Tree! More specifically Sambucus canadensis, that which grows in the northeast US. The clusters of berries are absolutely beautiful. I picked a couple gallons of them today. It’s really so easy. I used scissors to cut the clusters. Then I rolled them between my fingers and the berries popped off the stems. I picked only the ones with black clusters.

I made up my first batch of “Ethopian Wine” as per Sandor Katz recipe in “Wild Fermentations”, 3 Cups of Raw Honey to 1 Gallon of filtered water. I put 1 Qt of berries in the jar and will let it sit for a couple 3-5 days until it starts to get bubbly. Then I’ll strain out the berries and put it in a Cider jug. I found some balloons and I’ll put one on the spout. That will brew for another week or so.

I’ve never attempted to make “wine”. I’m finding that all fermented foods are beneficial and I wanted to give this one a try. Of course just like any of my ferments, the longer it sits the more fermentation. I’ll post pics of the finished product and tell you how delish it is!

I found this great site for lots of Elderberry info.

Leave a Reply

