Fewee!

My garden is busting at the seams! Today I made a batch of fermented salsa. Now, I’m truly not a salsa gal, but when I tasted this stuff….well, I ate a bowlful before I put the lid on to ferment! It is absolutely great! See the recipe at the end of this post. I ate it with these marvelous chips that Mother Linda brought to my attention. My family loves these chips now and refuses to eat anything else. They are prepared using the ancient Aztec method of stone ground corn soaked in lime made into a dough called Nixtamal. Then they are baked thin and crispy and using no hydrogentated oils! See everything that’s good for us is worth the wait.

Tomatillos, tomatoes and Jalepeno for salsa

They carry them in our local health food store! Lucky us.

I also made my first batch of brine sour pickles from Sandor Katz book, Wild Fermentation. The jar was pretty packed and I didn’t have anything to weight the cucs down….Sandor suggests using a rock….I asked my Honey if he had any ideas and he said, “how about a rock”! So, I got the rock that I brought home from VA that Ben used to sharpen his knife before he went out on his adventure hiking the Appalachian Trail for 4 days. I washed it well and then boiled it for 10 min’s…then I popped it in the freezer to cool it down. I pushed it on the top of the cucs and covered it with a paper towel held in place by a rubber band. Now to check them daily and let them sit for a couple 2-4 weeks! Can’t wait!

I also made up the last fresh batch of blackberry cobbler! I froze several quarts of berries for cobbler later this winter….oh won’t that be good in Dec or Jan! It will taste like summer and hopefully give us something to look forward to during the long winter.

Now a batch of blueberry muffins as per the request of my daughter Becca! Since she’s leaving for Germany in 1.5 months I am trying to meet all her little requests. After all she’s going to miss Thanksgiving and Christmas with us, and her 24th birthday. Besides that, I really do love serving my family and bringing them simple joys even if it is food. I never rewarded my kids with food when they were young and they’ve never had weight problems. Becca has been a part time athlete this summer and dropped to a size 2!!!!!!!! Make me sick. I think I was a 2 when I was 2! Period. Never again in my life!!!!

I just came in from pulling my onions….2 bushel!!! My first onions ever and I am so tickled! Thank you Melinda over at The Growing Challenge!!! By this little challenge she presented I was motivated to try new things and to push myself to the limits. I think I did. With this came motivation that I needed to come out of this “coma” I’ve been in with the Chronic Lyme Disease. I found a great quote embroidered on a sampler and could kick myself for not buying it…

“When I awoke, life was dusty.”

That so describes my life during this battle. But I am living proof that there is life after Lyme! Never, never, never give up!

The onions are drying this afternoon and then will cure for a few weeks. I’ll keep them in the basement when it rains, then I’ll put them back out under a shade tree. Here’s a good reference on curing onions.

I also blanched a batch of green beans to freeze.

I love the emerald green color when they are blanched. They are so pretty.

Sandy’s Fermented Salsa

(don’t ask me who Sandy is I have NO earthly idea, but it’s her recipe!)

2# Tomatillos or Tomatoes

1/2# onion

8-10 cloves of garlic

4 Jalepeno (2 seeded)

1/2 C cilantro

1/4 tsp cumin

2 Tbsp lime juice

2 Tbsp Celtic Sea Salt

1/4 C whey

Process in food processor and pack in canning jar. Leave on counter for 2 days. Then refrigerate and enjoy!

Makes approx. 1.5 Qts

Leave a Reply

