Blackberry Cobbler

I have to let you in on my recipe for the blackberry cobbler we had yesterday. It’s a good thing I took a picture before my family arrived, because we were so busy chatting, picking more blackberries and laughing, I plum forgot to take any pictures then. Here’s the recipe.

Blackberry Cobbler by Diane Coe

In a bowl mash 1/2 Cup softened grassfed butter

Beat in 1/2 Cup Maple Syrup, 1/2 tsp of Vanilla and 1 Pastured Egg

Add 2/3 Cup Rice Flour for Gluten Free (or other), plus 1/2 Cup Oats

1/4 tsp Baking Powder and 1 pinch of sea salt

In 8×8 baking dish mix 3-4 Cups of Blackberries with 3-4 Tbsp of Really Raw Honey and 1/3 Cup Maple Syrup. Stir this together until it’s incorporated. Then spoon the batter over the berries.

Bake at 375*F for 40 min’s. Cool on rack.

When I made this yesterday I did my usual guestamating, so you might have to play with it. I’ve been cooking for so long and I’m not afraid of the kitchen or failures that I actually don’t measure. These amounts are from my original recipe but I may have done something different yesterday, I used my fingers to measure the baking powder and oats…sorry. I also used my homemade Vanilla which is outstanding and again didn’t measure, but poured! If you ever want to try….just order vanilla beans from Mountain Rose Herbs and add 3-4 split beans to 1 Qt of Vodka and allow to sit for a long time…mines been sitting for months and months and I haven’t removed the beans because it actually keeps getting better the long it sits.

You can use this recipe for any berry or fruit cobbler. Last year we had it with blueberries and it was also very good. I must say that the blackberry was outstanding!!! I imagine that peach would be very yummy too! I hope you enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

