Motherwort

Motherwort
Leonurus cardiaca

“Lion Hearted”

I pressed out my first bottle of motherwort tincture yesterday. I was surprised at the first taste. Most tinctures to me have a very strong taste from the vodka used to make them. Not motherwort….she shines threw with an almost sweet taste. I was pleasingly excited and put together another two jars to have ready in 6 weeks.

I initially made the motherwort tincture for my menopause health. It’s suppose to be a great relaxing herb; one that stills any anxiety, helps you rest better at night, helps you get back to sleep when you find yourself wide awake at 2 AM. It’s a beautiful tonic for the heart and according to Susun S. Weed it even helps blood vessels grow to the heart. It strengthens the uterus, relieves cramps, and aids in the elasticity of the vagina. It is also a great pain reliever.

Wow, what a great herb to keep in your medicine chest! Especially if you are a woman. Motherwort is a member of the mint family and can be cultivated at home easily if you live in the Northeast. I think I’ll be planting some this year so I can benefit from her in the future. Please see Susun S. Weeds full article on Motherwort for specific amounts to take for which ailment. And as we all know this information has not been backed by the FDA approval. I am not a doctor. This is only my own experience and opinion.

Leave a Reply

