Showers of Blessing

“There will be showers of blessing”

Ezekiel 34:26

This is one of my favorite verses in the Bible that I clung to while on my journey with Chronic Lyme Disease. I take God at His Word. He promised me showers of blessing and even though I couldn’t see them while I was in my “coma”, they were there. I am now reaping a huge harvest of blessing from a lot of very hard work to get to this place of healing.

You know how your Mum always told you that you’d appreciate something more if you had to work hard for it? I believe that sometimes that’s what God says. Yes, I believe that there are modern day miracles, but I also believe God wants us to listen to his still small voice and follow His instruction. That is what I did. He told me all along that I would find my healing in food. That it was right here. He spoke this to me through His written Word. The Word that comes alive through our faith in Christ.

When I read Isaiah 55:2, I knew that I heard His still small voice. “Listen, Listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.” I’m not sure it could get much clearer than this to me. He told me twice to listen. That must mean He had something very important to say. So I did eat what was good, the richest of fare. I ate lots of raw butter and cream! They are packed with Vit D. Many believe today that you cannot heal from any illness without Vit A & D. I agree. I get my Vit A from Cod Liver Oil.  Or my childhood favorite….Sardines!!!!!!!!!  I love them!

Every morning I eat lots of bright yellow raw butter. Either I put it on my sourdough toast or I use even more in my yogurt soaked oatmeal. I also take 1-2 Tbsp of Cod Liver Oil. Dr Ron Schmid is an ND in Conn. and he has recovered his body from Lyme Disease also. When I was first diagnosed 3 years ago, I read his book, Traditional Foods Are Your Best Medicine. At first I thought, I could never eat like that, but after listening to God’s voice and finding connections, I was able to access raw dairy from PA, a state that still allows the sale of raw dairy legally. Once I began to consume raw dairy my health began to turn around. He even suggests eating grassfed meats….ummm…raw or close to raw. I did for a long time. I even ate soy free chicken raw. It was actually delicious…in fact, I craved it. I’d never had raw chicken before, but here I was craving it. I guess my body needed the protein. You must always know where your food is coming from. Mine comes directly from my personal farmers. I know them by name and they know me. I would never recommend eating raw meat or any meat actually, from a grocery store; organic or otherwise!!!! I told you it took a lot of hard work.

Even now, it takes work. I soak all my grains that I am now able to eat. My oatmeal is always soaked overnight in yogurt or kefir to break down the phytic acid that inhibits digestion. I have to order most of my food in advance and then drive to pick it up. I keep a well stocked freezer with grassfed meats. I drive 60 miles round trip for my soy free eggs from Sycamore Spring Farm. I make all my herbal infusions and tinctures with organic herbs from Mountain Rose Herbs. I only use Coconut Oil, Butter, Lard or EVOO as oils. I make my own fermented veggies and drinks all of which aid and prevent leaky gut syndrome.

It just takes work. Nothing is easy in life. But if you will commit to the hard work of focusing on recovering you body, you can. God will give you what you need if you ask Him. He will withhold no good thing from those who fear Him. He told us, “Seek and you will find, Knock and the door will be opened, Ask and you will receive.” He is God and I am not. He is in the Heavens and He does as He pleases. BUT I do know that “The Glory of God is Man Fully Alive”, and I am fully alive now! I live each day to worship God, and to bring glory and honor to Him. I live as a vessel broken and poured out. To live is Christ!

Leave a Reply

