Taste And See

“Taste and see that the Lord is good.”

Psalm 34:8

I was on my mowing marathon again yesterday. I realized while lying in bed that all the time I put on the mower each week, I could be out in Western MD, enjoying the mountains and our favorite spot to R&R!!!! I was also pondering why in America we pride ourselves on grass. Think about it. We strive for perfect lawns, just so we can sit on our….butts….and cut it!!! Something is terribly wrong with that! I had a lawn company call me once and try to sell me their chemical treatment…right….so I would have a lush green lawn. I informed the guy that if I had my druthers, I’d pour concrete and paint it green!!! Why would I want more lush green grass to cut. I’m spending at least $60/month just sitting on my…butt….cutting grass! In India they asked me “what crops do you grow on your 5 acres?” I was a bit embarrassed to reply…none. But being we are zoned for 5 acres, there’s not much we can do about it. It’s also become quite a tax burden. After 22 years we are finally paying almost $6,000.00/yr in property taxes! We can’t subdivide YET, but when the city finally brings water & sewer out we just might profit off this chunk of prime real estate! Maybe.

That’s enough bemoaning about my weekly chore! I found some great finds yesterday.

When I go to the garden now, I’m reminded that God cares for the birds of the air, how much more He cares for me. Ben built this little birdhouse almost 10 yrs ago. I’m not sure what kind of bird nested in it, but there are little birdies singing as I work in my garden. It’s a sweet, sweet sound to my ear!

My borage bloomed. Now I need to harvest some for my herbal medicine cabinet.  Speaking of my herbal medicine chest…this is mine.  It’s pretty full, but I think I have what I need for just about any ailment.  I’ll share more in a future post.

I started the little Nasturtium in front by seed indoors this winter. The one behind it I sowed in the soil!

Look what I found!

The heads are getting very hard and looking good.

My volunteer Zinias are blooming.

Look what else I found! They aren’t ready yet, but it won’t be long. I planted 4 bushes 20 yrs ago and only 1 survived. Last yr I harvested 10 qts of blueberries off my one little bush!

Looks like another good year for berries!

Here’s the funny thing. I have some wonderful plants growing in my compost. As you might of read so far in my posting, I love volunteers! So, I’ve let these guys go. I have two potato plants, and 4-5 tomato plants. And some weeds. Who ever thought I’d be weeding my compost bin!

This is the absolute kicker!!!!!!!! Do you recognize this guy? Yes, it’s a sweet potato plant. All that work I went to to grow them indoors and then have them not survive in my garden, and here they are growing without my care in my compost!!!!!!!! What a hoot! I bet they will be absolutely great!

I picked more beets and they are so sweet this year. I’ve loved them since I was a child.

Now some sad news. I put this little fence up to keep the dogs out of my new herb bed. Well, as you can see little Toto dog, Lady, has found her way over the fence. No, it didn’t surprise me, but what she was after did. She uncovered a rabbit nest. It HAD three little babies in it. The dogs were so proud of themselves, especially Lady. She was convinced since they were her find….finders keepers, loosers weepers! Yes, she did them in. I had to just turn my back and let the food chain go. What was I going to do? Take the bunnies in the house and raise them….no. This is life in the real world.

Lone survivor. I put this little guy in safer place, but I know he will die there.

Just waiting for me to turn my back.

Gottum

Aren’t we such good dogs Mum???

Leave a Reply

