I’m Watching You!

My garden has gone from being a place of beauty and tranquility to being a place of eyeballs! The crow problem has pushed me to extreme measures. I purchased these ugly yellow beach balls that have big eyes on them. They were $10 each! They better work!!! I’m hoping since I’ve got this 24/7 security watching out for the crows I won’t have to. I even hung pie tins hoping that they would scare off the crows too. I dug around in the dirt where I planted the corn and sure enough they picked more than 50% of my corn out of the ground!!! I’m going to replant today. I know it will be a very late crop but now that I’ve got my eye on the ball, well, I’m hoping for some delicious sweet corn. What would Maryland be like in the summer without Blue Crabs and Corn on the Cob?

Giant Eyes are watching

One hung in the Cherry Tree

One hung in the Apple Tree

More Garden Pictures

Watermelons are up

Cantaloupes are up.

Cuc’s are up.

My Borage & Sage that I started from seed this winter. This was my first “Growing Challenge”.

Nasturtiums among the carrots.

My friend at Sycamore Spring Farm and I are always swaping plants and other stuff. These are the heirloom onions she gave me. They grow their own “babies” on the tops. And what’s so cool is that the baby is growing more babies. Then these will be my onion sets next summer. Cool! That’s the whole idea of heirloom plants. You can save the seed from year to year. Below is an old lettuce plant that grew in the isle from seeding last year. I’m going to try and figure out how to save these seeds as well as the spinach.

Lettuce growing from seeding last year. Now starting to already go to seed. For those new to gardening….this is what’s called, “bolted”. See how it has spikes…grew out of control…it’s bolted.

Beets doing well.

Carrots doing great! I thinned them early and it’s a good thing, they are so lush!

Pole Beans are in bloom.

Perennials I purchased at Alloway Creek Herb Farm are blooming.

Ca Poppies I started from seed are blooming.

Me in my cute new skirt and pretty pink crocks, enjoying it all here at Peaceful Acres!

“Better is one day in the courts of my God, than a thousand else where.   I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked…..no good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless.”

Psalm 84:10,11b

Leave a Reply

