Top Post~~~Lyme Disease Alert!!!!!

Since my most read post/page is “My Journey With Lyme Disease” I thought I’d write an ALERT!!!!! I know this topic of creepy crawly thingies is not pleasant BUT it is important that everyone knows what to look for.

This is the second critter (deer tick) that I’ve found in the past two yrs. I found this one Friday morning. It freaks me out to say the least. My greatest fear has been to recover my body and then get reinfected. The last deer tick I found attached to my upper thigh and this one was on the same hip. Last August I called my doc crying. He reassured me that the worrying part was his and mine was to stay calm and treat it as if it is an infected tick. Here’s a good link on what to do.

PLEASE NOTE THE SIZE OF THIS TICK. THIS IS WHY IT IS SOOOOOO VERY HARD TO DETECT THEM. SO MANY CHILDREN HAVE THEM HIDING IN PLACES WE DON’T LOOK. YES, THEY CAN CRAWL INTO THE EARS AND ALSO THE BOTTOM. THEY HIDE IN CREASES AND PLACES WE JUST CAN’T EASILY SEE. THIS GUY IS DEAD AND I’VE PUT HIM BETWEEN TAPE. I MISSED HIM IN THE SHOWER AND LATER FOUND HIM WHILE SITTING ON THE POTTY. GET A MIRROR AND CHECK YOURSELF EVERYDAY!

After my drive out to “the farm” Friday morning, I sang praises and prayed to The King of Kings, Jesus. I quoted one of the scriptures that reminds me of who I am. “Thy power is made perfect in weakness. When I am weak then I am strong.” I was also reminded of, “Trust in God, trust also in Me.”

I came to the conclusion that if I’m taking Dr Zhang’s Chinese Herbs to kill the infection I already have, then it ought to also take care of anything new that I might get in the future. Plus I will rife today, mainly because I’m due for a rifing session, and also just in case there was any new infection.

I can’t urge you enough to check your body, no matter where you live. Did you know that the rate of infected ticks is on the rise in CA? I know I got this tick in my own backyard. We haven’t quite figured out what to do about our tick problem. But we have one. The state won’t let us kill the deer that are over populating our backyard. The kill permits have not risen with the rate of deer multiplication. We have a known herd of 10 deer in our backyard “field”, one of which is for sure a mature buck. A few of the yearlings are also probably bucks. So, lets just say we have 6 does. And lets just say they each drop twins which is a probable guess and triplets isn’t stretching it. Now we have 22+ deer in our backyard. We have seen this particular herd double and triple in the past few years. They have a wonderful place to live in our field. Even though I cut the field down, there’s still enough cover for them. So, we just aren’t sure what to do. We do have some pretty good marksmen in our family, but as Honey keeps reminding me, our neighbors would probably get upset if a deer ran through their yard with an arrow sticking out of it’s neck. OK………….but we still have a big problem. Our state is an epidemic state. We have too many animal activist who think that Bambi is our friend. I’m of the belief that God made man to be in dominion over the animals, thus we issue enough kill permits to control the problem. In a town in NJ, the sheriff’s department, issues Guinea Hens to families to eat the ticks. That would work only if they could roam free, but I think the dogs would eat the Guinea Hens.

Then only thing we can do is to treat this cautiously. We don’t use chemicals on the dogs, but we use Neem spray and Diametatious Earth. Both of which are suppose to kill the ticks if not repel them. However we pull ticks off the dogs every day. The dogs don’t live in the “house”, but they live in our laundry room….ticks crawl. So, do we kill the dogs???? NO! I say kill the deer! But for now that’s not an answer. I saw some stuff that is basically liquid garlic spray. It doesn’t kill the ticks but repells them. Our neighbor puts down tons of Triazinon. Which is a very potent insecticide. Not only does it kill the ticks, but every good insect as well. And it is probably not doing much to help his kids who plays in the grass. OMGOSH!

If anyone has any great tick tips for a big yard, please let me know. We have to treat at least 2.5 acres if not all 5.

Leave a Reply

