Indian Dahl~Mmmmmm Good!

I’ve gone to India twice now on missions trips to help and encourage at an orphanage. While there I fell in love with the people, who are generous and would give you the shirt off their backs while feeding you what meager offerings they had. I arrived in Mumbai which is a bustling city of over 13 million people. I saw great poverty and yet a city that was touched by the West with fashion and food. I spent my 3 weeks in the rural part of Maharashtra.

This is the scene behind the Indian owned hotel we stayed at for a night. A woman with her sacred cow, yet she was begging and very frail. It was a scene I’d see repeatedly.

This is McDonald’s in Mumbai.

This is the train we rode on for 14 hrs!

What you see is mostly men selling food threw the windows to those on the train. It didn’t stop for long and you had to throw all your baggage off in a matter of a minute or two. Then the train was off again. It was quite an experience. We did have western potties on the train, but I left my mark all over India!!!! 😀

When we arrived at our destination, Children’s Fellowship Of India, we were greeted by all the boys lining the driveway into the compound. I was hugged and kissed more than one woman should be allowed in a lifetime.

Our arrival at CFI after 14 hrs on the train.

The children were so hungry for touch. They soon learned I was the Auntie with 10 fingers! So ten could hold my hand. Kisses were given away like candy.

Even the dog wanted in on the action.

Meals are all eaten on the floor. I soon became accustomed to eating with my hands and enjoying every morsel.

This is Christmas Day 2004. We had no news of the Tsunami.

Christmas Day~joy in the eyes of a child receiving his package that we helped assemble. Each child received a new school outfit made by the tailor, Daniel. A couple pieces of candy, a small toy, a towel, a handkerchief, and firecrakers!!!!! I soon learned where the expression “wild little Indians” came from!

A mother and her child that lives at the orphanage. She is probably a widow or her husband left her for another woman and she can’t afford to keep her son. They spent Christmas Day together.

The children have donated shoes. But they prefer not to wear them. This day they all decided they wanted to show off their shoes and have their picture taken. Soon after off with the shoes.

These are women who were picking cotton on Christmas Day. Christmas is celebrated in India by Christians. However, I’m sure these ladies had no idea that it was Christmas nor did they even know of our Saviour Jesus Christ.

A typical scene. I loved hearing the water buffalo coming down the road with their bells ringing.

This is a typical scene in the towns. The roads were filled with animals. Water Buffalo pulling carts. Shepherds with their flocks. Camels in a caravan. Cars tooting their horns and dust every where.

We drew a lot of attention where ever we went. So, on this day when we went into the “bazaar” we covered ourselves so we could do some shopping without flocks of men following us. I wore my marriage beads, they are the black and gold beads around my neck. It is to symbolize you are married. Non the less the men were taken by our blue eyes and fair hair. It made my young companion and I laugh and giggle.

Oh and the food was to die for!!! I ate so much and enjoyed every bite. Every trip I lost at least 10 lbs though. I wish that would happen here!

Here we are at the saree shop. See all our shoes at the door. It’s customary to take them off since they don’t have Hoovers!

I learned to enjoy so much of the food, especially on my second trip to CFI. Here’s one of my favorite recipes called Dahl; lentil soup. Sorry I didn’t get a photo of it at presentation…..but I’m so hungry I forget to take pictures instead of digging in! Last night I enjoyed it with my fresh cooked greens tossed in!

Indian Dahl

(the way I learned it)

EVOO (a good covering in the saucepan)

6 Large Cloves of Garlic (more if desired) diced

1/4 Onion chopped

1 Tomato chopped

1 cube of beef stock (if you have it for nutritional bang)

1 C Red Lentils soaked for 8 hrs (I’ll address this at the end)

Toss in some Chili peppers if you have them.

Season with a good helping of salt, cayenne, and turmeric!

Sautee the the garlic and onion in the EVOO. Toss in the tomato and cook a little more. Add the drained lentils and cover with water. Allow to simmer for 45 min’s – 1 hour. You can add more water or allow it to cook down so there’s not much broth. Pour over Basmati rice~ enjoy. If you can tolerate wheat then eat it up with a Chapati and your hands!!! YUMMY!

Nutritional Value: “Lentils: are one of the oldest of all cultivated crops. Extraordinarily rich in protease inhibitors, genisten, and lignans, all kinds of lentils are proven them selves capable of reversing cancerous cellular changes and helping cells repair damaged DNA.

Garlic: is queen of cancer-prevention and cancer-inhibiting foods, counters the initiation, promotion, and recurrence of many kinds of cancer. Unusually rich in anti-tumor elelments selenium and germanium, garlic also contains an abundance of antioxidants, isoflavones and allyl sulfides.

Greens: Dark leafy greens are rich in cancer-preventing carotenes, chlorophyll, antioxidants, folic acid, flavonoids, and if fresh and lightly washed Vitamin C.

Olive Oil: of good quality is an important part of any anti-cancer diet. Exceptionally rich in antioxidants, olive oil has a special ability to help cells protect themselves from free radical damage, and it’s the oil most likely to make it to your table with its antioxidants intact.

Rice: is a good source of protease inhibitors. Women who eat the most rice have the lowest rates of breast cancer. Brown rice is the staple anti-cancer food of the macrobiotic approach, and rice in many forms, is one of the most important grains in any anti-cancer diet. ”

These facts were taken from Breast Cancer? Breast Health by Susun Weed.

Chapati

Enough whole wheat flour and water to make a firm ball. Allow to rest. Roll out on a floured board into a round disc. Heat up an oiled skillet and toss the dough onto the skillet. Move it around continuously until it begins to puff. A good chapti cook with have good puff! Toss it over and brown the other side.

soaking lentils with whey

Soaking grains helps to break down the Phytic Acid. It allows them to become more digestible. When I make goat cheese I save my whey and freeze it in ice cube trays. Then I just pop one in with my soaking lentils and soak them for 8 hrs. At that point it only takes a short while for them to cook.

You can search for my previous posts on how to make kefir cheese and then obtain the whey.

Leave a Reply

