Belated Happy Mother’s Day

Today I feel what most people call normal. I’ve spent so many years in my coma with Lyme Disease that I’m not really sure what normal is. But I think what I’m feeling is normal. The past 3 days were not very normal. I’m not sure how most people feel when they go away for some R&R, but for me it’s pretty stressful. I have to pack all our special food and I have to cook it all too. Then I have to come home and unpack it all….so as you can see after some R&R I need some more. And so I spent the last three days trying to get rested and back in the swing.

Thus comes the fact that I forgot to wish all the Moms a Happy Mother’s Day. I in fact did have one. Becca fixed a delicious dinner that fit her culinary experience….steak & french fried potatoes! It’s was delicious and I enjoyed every bite…I threw together a small plate of fresh greens for a salad.

Becca gave me a pair of Crocks in my favorite color and they match the chair in my garden!

Ben gave me a great CD by Hillsong; Hillsong Live, Saviour King! I love it!

Honey and I were craving a berry pie while away, but as you know we have food issues. Also, I’ve avoided sugars of most kinds for the last yr since the Lyme Spirochetes love to feed on it. But I thought I’d splurge for Mother’s Day. I adjusted a recipe for Blueberry Cobbler that I think Martha Stewart created….don’t know for sure…but now it’s my recipe for people with food allergies.

Blueberry Cobbler

Mix together in an 8×8 glass dish.

3 C blueberries (I used our own frozen from last yr)

3 Tbsp Raw Honey

1/3 C Maple Syrup

Cream:

1/2 C Raw Butter

1/2 C Maple Syrup

Beat in:

1 Pastured Egg

1/2 C Maple Syrup

Add to creamed ingredients:

2/3 C Rice Flour

1 C Rolled Oats

1/4 tsp Baking Powder

1 Pinch of Salt

Spread over the berry mixture and bake at 375F for 35-40 Minutes. Serve warm with raw cream or raw ice cream…it’s also very good cold!

Leave a Reply

