Sourdough Success!

Sourdough Bread

I finally was successful making sourdough starter and bread. I received advice that made this experience a positive one, but I did cheat a little. I started my second batch of starter and one recipe said that I could add some yeast to give it a boost. Since my first batch failed, I did add the yeast. I will give you my recipe below. After three days of adding to the starter I decided it was time to try it out. The bread is delicious and I’m quite pleased.

3rd day after adding 1st rise

Risen 2nd rise

Final Success Sourdough Bread

Sourdough Starter

1C Warm Water mix with 1C flour (whatever kind you like) . Mix these together and cover w/ a paper towel and set in a warm place. I think the secret here is a warm place. If you want to cheat you can add a little yeast. I waited until the second day to do the next step, but you can go ahead and do it on the first day. After 5-10 hrs add 1/2C warm water and 1/2C flour and mix well. Allow to sit again in warm place. Continue this step until you have double what you started with….2 Cups of starter or more depending on the recipe. Allowing this to sit for I think at least 3 days will develop the yeast well. On the day you are ready to bake, add 1C warm water and 1C flour to the starter. After this has set and become bubbly and foamy it is ready, this stage is called sponging or proofing. You might remember that my first attempt called for removing and adding to the starter everyday. But this new way will strengthen the starter so it has enough strength to raise the bread.

Remove 2C starter (or whatever your recipe calls for) and put in bowl to make your dough. Reserve at least 1C starter and add 1C warm water and 1C flour. Mix and put in container in the frig. If you don’t make bread once a week you will want to take this starter out and feed it with 1C warm water and 1C flour. This will keep it alive.

This is my bread recipe that I’ve used for years with whole wheat or white flour. But now with the addition of the starter that has proofed:

4C of proofed starter

6C flour (more or less as needed)

4 Tbsp Olive Oil

4 Tbsp Honey

4 tsp salt

Mix well until the gluten in the dough is well developed. Place in greased bowl and allow to rise in a warm place, covered and you may want to grease the top with some EVOO. After the dough has doubled in size, knead. Separate into two loaves and place in well greased bread pans. After the dough has risen and is double it’s time to bake in a 350 oven for 25 minutes. I usually thump the bottom for a hollow sound to make sure it’s done. Dump out of pan onto a cooling rack. Slice and enjoy! Makes 2 large loaves. 8)

There is a very interesting article in the Ethicurean on Sourdough Bread.  See my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

