Sourdough Starter 101

 

Sourdough Starter Day 1 Day 1 Sourdough Starter Day 1

 

Day 3 inside jar before taking 1/2 cup outSourdough starter day3 Day 3 before removing 1/2 C

 

Day 3 Stirred after adding 1/2 Cup blog-2-082.jpg  Day 3

Through reading and researching and having the lights finally come on, I realized that I can try Sourdough Bread. It’s a lacto-fermented food. The sourdough inactivates the Phytic Acid which may be the cause of my wheat intolerance. So this morning I started my first batch of sourdough starter. I’m really anxious to see if it works for me since I’ve forgone bread and grains for almost 6 yrs. Wow, that’s a long time.

Here it sits on my kitchen floor by the heater hoping to keep it between 70-80 degrees for the next week or so. I started with 1 Cup warm water and 1 Cup Unbleached King Arthur Flour. Stirred it together in a wide mouth jar and just settled a paper towel over the top hoping to keep out any dog hairs. (Please don’t notice them…..they do shed a lot) So, tomorrow I will take out 1/2 cup and add 1/2 cup warm water and 1/2 cup flour, stir and wait another 24 hrs. I’ll do that each do until it starts to really bubble. Once it’s showing live lacto friendly bacteria I’ll stick it in the frig. Then I’ll make my bread using the sourdough starter instead of active dry yeast. Boy is this fun. Who ever thought I’d be a scientist…not me.

Leave a Reply

