Is There Oil In Your Lamp?

As I lay in bed this morning at 2:30AM for the third or fourth time in a week, I decided not to fight it. I’m not sure if it’s age; I didn’t think it happened at 50 and I already take plenty of Melatonin. So, I decided to ask the Lord what He wanted. He told me to pray. I told Him I’d rather be sleeping and He told me to be quiet and pray. He showed me that at 2:30 AM there aren’t a lot of distractions…..He’s right there aren’t. But I can’t figure out, why can’t He wait till say, 4AM???? I’m not going to argue with God, look at Job.

As I was praying for my family and for the state of our nation, the Lord brought many scriptures to mind and one of them was the parable of the Ten Virgins.

Matthew 25

The Parable of the Ten Virgins

1“At that time the kingdom of heaven will be like ten virgins who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. 2Five of them were foolish and five were wise. 3The foolish ones took their lamps but did not take any oil with them.”

Taken from Bible Gateway.

The parable goes on to say that the wise virgins had plenty of oil while the foolish ones had to run off and get some because their lamps were empty. While they were gone getting oil, the Bridegroom (Christ) came. He welcomed the wise virgins but when the foolish returned the door had been closed and it was too late. The verse says “the kingdom of heaven will be like ten virgins”. The kingdom of heaven are those following Christ and they will all “look” alike. But as they wait, and wait for the Bridegroom it will be clear which are wise and which are foolish. It will be clear as to which are true followers and are ready and waiting for His return. The metaphor of a virgin is simply to show a bride waiting in anticipation for the Bridegroom.

I’ve often pondered over this scripture and it’s deep meaning. However, this morning I saw it very clearly. I was reflecting on it in light of the uncertain times in our nation; the recession, presidential election, housing market, our nations debt, etc, etc ….. and personally feeling like we’re living in the “end of days”.

Our electric went out yesterday for a brief time. When the power goes out, no one know for how long. It was late afternoon and the wind was howling and temperatures were dropping. When the power goes out that means no heat. So we put in our insulated window panels that keep the heat in and the cold air out. The room grew dark quickly. It was either sit in the dark or freeze. I always keep an old fashion oil lamp filled and ready to use in these situations. I lit it and the room was filled with light.

As I was praying this morning I reflected on that oil lamp. Had I not known where it was, I couldn’t have used it, had it not been filled with oil, it would have done me no good what-so-ever, even if I knew where it was. But it was full and it served it’s purpose. That’s what Christ wants from His children; true believers. He wants us ready. Ready to witness for Him, ready to serve those in need, ready to worship and pray at 2:30 AM and ready for His return. Are you ready? Have you given your heart and life over to the Lordship of Jesus Christ? Are you ready with oil in your lamp and some to spare? Or are you running on empty? Have you lived a good life hoping that it’s enough. Have you lived a life pretending to be a believer? Are you waiting with a lamp that is near empty because you don’t seek Him in prayer and His Word;The Bible?

I love this quote from Chuck Swindoll; “I stay ready to keep from having to get ready.” Are you ready? You can be. It’s very simple to stay ready and never have to “hope” that you make it into heaven. There’s a simple “believers prayer” that can go something like this:

Lord Jesus, I’m a sinner. I don’t deserve what you did for me on the cross, but I accept it as a free gift. I confess that I have sinned and not even come close to living a good enough life to compare with the sacrifice of your death on the cross. Forgive me and cleanse me of all my sin. I need your Holy Spirit to come in and dwell with me. He will give me the power to be ready and stay ready. Thank you for this free gift called salvation. In your name I pray. Amen.

If you prayed that prayer, you have been “born again”. That’s what Jesus called it. It’s not that you had to re-enter your mothers womb, but it’s the gift of salvation paid for by Christ on the cross. Drop me a note and let me know of this decision. I’d love to pray for you especially when I’m awake again at 2:30 AM!

Is there oil in your lamp?

Oil Lamp

Leave a Reply

